Who Says You Can’t Teach An Old Dog New Tricks?

I retired from teaching on January 17, 2017. Shortly afterward, I had my second knee replacement so there wasn’t much time to enjoy my “freedom”.

Months passed and I found myself not being the type to just stay home. Ironically, that was one of the things I couldn’t wait to experience once I did retire. I spoke of staying home doing nothing very often. But I found out that really wasn’t me. I needed more in my life. I needed to feel like I was making a difference, so I grew antsy.

I returned to writing. I started writing a nonfiction book this time. It’s about grief, loss, and recovery. I’m about halfway completed at this point. From there, things sort of evolved and doors opened to this new world that involved speaking and coaching. The truth is, I was always terrified to speak in front of people. I avoided it at all cost. And I never knew that coaching even existed. I looked into it and got excited. Immediately I saw it (and felt it) as a calling to serve others. So I did what is not surprising for people who know me.  I started taking classes. I’m excited to say that today I have finished my certification in transformational coaching. My plans are to continue to get my Master Life Coach certification while I begin my new coaching-writing-speaking career.

I am going to conduct vision board workshops and concentrate my coaching niche for women who have had to overcome life-changing events and help them to rediscover their life purpose.

So, I guess you could say I’m a teacher again. This time my students are a little older. They are adults. I look forward to seeing what the future holds.

Who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?

8E7383C7C2FDC228C20DF1E312FB645C2

In a world where there is so much hate, let us all choose to be KIND.red-304570__340

 

11 thoughts on “Who Says You Can’t Teach An Old Dog New Tricks?

  1. Mona T Hernandez October 17, 2018 — 8:17 pm

    How awesome for you! Best wishes for this new journey!!

    Like

  2. I am excite about your new endeavor Peggy. Wishing you the best. Hugs

    Like

  3. Wow! Once a teacher, always a teacher. Best of luck in your new venture.

    Like

  4. How exciting, not only for you to have forged into a new endeavor, but one that at one time, a facet of that you did not feel comfortable with. It took courage, my friend to take the first step when you couldn’t even see the stairway!! Looking forward to partaking in one of your classes!! Best of luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I hope to see you soon!

      Like

  5. Good for you Sis! I know you will do a great job!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so excited for you, Peggy!!! Great start to a new chapter in your life!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close