My Early Christmas Gift

Last week I was able to travel back to my hometown to see my dad, along with my three sisters, and celebrate his 90th birthday. My mom passed away in March of this year so it was his first birthday without her.

My dad suffers from Alzheimer’s. Because I live out of state, I don’t get to see him often. How I wish I could!  Each time I visit, I hold my breath not knowing if he will recognize me when I walk through the door . And each time he does I breathe a sigh of relief and feel a great sense of gratitude for having another opportunity to visit, with him still knowing I am his daughter. Conversations are not the same, but I take what I can get.

It was a different kind of celebration without my mom. She was always the rock of our family. But we were grateful to have the chance to celebrate the milestone with Dad. And being with my three sisters at once does not happen very often. So that made me happy as well.

So despite totaling two cars in one night in my household a couple of weeks ago, my husband’s job being dissolved next month, and the grandchildren not being here on Christmas morning this year, I’m still excited to have received an early Christmas gift, which was spending time with my dad.  I will hopefully see my grandchildren Christmas afternoon. Cars and jobs can be replaced, but a parent cannot. The hugs I was able to give him during my stay and to see him look at me and still know who I was, is the best Christmas gift I can ask for this year. I love you with all my heart. Merry Christmas  Daddy.  red-304570__340

me and dad

In a world where there is so much hate, let us all choose to be KIND. red-304570__340

2 thoughts on “My Early Christmas Gift

  1. Peggy, Christmas is always a time to celebrate, but it is bittersweet for many, and even sad for many others. Kudos to you for finding the joy that is ALWAYS there, if we only would look (which you have). You are blessed that Mr. Lawrence remembers who you are. If the time comes when he does not, just realize that he WILL know that a sweet person (who seems familiar but he can’t place her) cared enough to come and “love on him”. It’s much harder for you, because he’s in a different place. I’m sorry for your losses, and none of us get through life without them. It’s so hard…but there is always joy to be found….like a sister’s reunion ! May you have a beautiful Christmas with whatever family can join you!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Edie. I am truly blessed and don’t take that for granted. Merry Christmas to you, Tommy and your precious family. Love you guys!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close